7th Mar Theodosius Memorial Basketball (Men) Tournament

As per the tradition of every year, this year also St. Thomas College, Ruabandha, Bhilai organized  7th Mar Theodosius Memorial Basketball (Men) Tournament on 3rd – 4th November, 2023. The chief guest of this event was Catholicos & Malankara Metropolitan H. H. Baselios Marthoma Mathews III. In the beginning of the program first of all NSS volunteers presented Chhattisgarhi Folk Dance and Rajgeet to welcome the chief guest and NCC cadets escorted the guest towards the activity place by giving them guard of honor. President of the event and Head of St. Thomas Mission Bhilai, H. G. Manager Bishop Alexios Mar Eusebius welcomed the chief guest by presenting them a bouquet of flower. Principal Dr. M.G. Roymon solemnly welcomed the chief guest and presented the inaugural address. H. G. Manager Bishop Alexios Mar Eusebius in his presidential address gave his best wishes to all the players and said that to win the game you must have team spirit. Chief guest H. H. Baselios Marthoma Mathews III gave his blessings to all the teams for the tournament and motivated them to play with discipline and honesty. During the program the college magazine for the session 2022 – 23 was released by chief guest and by releasing the balloon the chief guest officially declared the tournament open. In the first semi final match Rungta college won the game from D. P. Vipr College, Bilaspur by 57 – 31. In the Second Semifinal St. Thomas College won the game from BIT Durg by 57 – 33. In the final match St. Thomas College won the game from  Rungta College by 47 – 28. The Sports Officer of St. Thomas College, Mr. Kailash Narayan Vaerma welcomed to Dr. Bhupendra Kuldeep, Registrar Hemchand Yadav Vishvvidyalaya, Durg by presenting a sapling. Team Rungta College felicitated with the runner up trophy and Cash Prize of Rs. 12000. finally Team St. Thomas was felicitated with winner trophy and cash prize of Rs. 15000.  The program was successfully conducted by Dr. Shiny Mendonce Head P.G. dept. of English and vote of thanks was proposed by Dr. Rincy Abraham, Assistant Professor, Dept. of Commerce. On this occasion Rt. Rev. Thomas Rmbhan,  Fr. Aju K. Varghese, Fr. Dr. P. S. Varghese, Fr. Jibin Johnson, Fr. Kurian John, Adminstrator of the College, Rev. Fr. Dr. Joshi Varghese, Members of Sports committee Dr. Rincy B. Abraham, Dr. Sunita Kshtriya, Dr. Santosh Miri, Mr. Amitabh Sharma, Dr. Sapna Sharma, Dr. Anupama Gangrade, other faculties and students were present.